Recreating my dreams

With a little help from pika.art

“All the rage was the Scarlet Johansson protective helmet.”

Permiso.”

I have this secret weird thing.

If I’ve had a particularly vivid dream, I immediately grab my phone and start madly typing a verbatim account of what happened and how it felt with as much specificity as my frantic state will allow.

I don’t get all oogly about bullshit like “Ooooo, it was your house…but, it wasn’t your house…!” I just report with clarity.

Same way you’d teach a monkey to use a fax machine.

Then, later, I copyedit them, with any changes coming solely from the indelibility of certain images and moments. Like a famous actress being in my college dorm room wearing a helmet that also has a ficus in it.

So, obviously I relished the opportunity to sweep these emotional danders into a dingus that can make them into little flashbulb movies.

Crazy thing is, while these things look very little like my actual dreams, they’re a hundred percent what they feel like.

Making them unexpectedly magical.


0:00
/0:03

There's a hole in your bathroom wall into which you whisper your secrets. You're literally speaking into the ear of an ancient bird. But it remembers everything.

0:00
/0:07

All the rage was the Scarlet Johansson protective helmet. It's a colorful helmet, it is a planter with 11 specific draining holes, and it's an important crucible for ideas.

0:00
/0:03

There are always four generators, but only one is a vitally active engine. We've never figured out which one is the real engine nor what it actually powers, but most everyone agrees it must be something very important. The generators never let on. They definitionally cannot.

0:00
/0:03

A plane casually lands inside an airport. People need to get places.

Some more Ancient Birds

0:00
/0:03
0:00
/0:03
0:00
/0:07
0:00
/0:03
0:00
/0:03

Some Bonus Scarlett Content

A “fishbowl” is a kind of dorm room at New College, which the dingus doesn't know.

0:00
/0:03
0:00
/0:03
0:00
/0:03
0:00
/0:03